## **Rural Revival Annual Meeting Minutes**

June 24, 2019 – 7:30 pm – Freeman City Library

**Directors Present:** Tim Eisenbeis, Lillie Eisenbeis, Dennis Jurkovich, Todd Koerner, Dee Millar

**Directors Absent:** Lorraine Ensz, Lyle Preheim, S. Roy Kaufman

**Members Present:** Larry Eisenbeis, Dennis Lehmann, Gabriel Eisenbeis, Phil Eisenbeis, Andre Eisenbeis

**Number of Directors:** The Rural Revival Bylaws specify that the number of directors be between 7 and 15. Given the low level of member participation, Todd Koerner moved that the number of directors be reduced to 7. Seconded by Philip Eisenbeis. Passed unanimously.

**Elections of Board members:** Todd Koerner moved that Dennis Lehmann be elected to the Board of Directors and that Tim Eisenbeis, Lillie Eisenbeis, Dennis Jurkovich and Dee Millar be re-elected. Seconded by Dee Millar and passed unanimously.

The board of directors needs to appoint a replacement director for John Koch in the near future. Possible people are Brent Brockmuller, Richard Ensz and Josh Hofer.

The terms of Lorraine Ensz, S. Roy Kaufman and Todd Koerner expired in 2019.

**Rural Revival Evaluation:** President Tim Eisenbeis asked for a past year evaluation of Rural Revival.

Attendance could be higher. Often topics covered are repeats from previous meetings. There is a feeling we are not moving ahead.

We need to cover more relevant topics that will educate the community.

Get the word out about we we do by making presentations at local churches.

Field days were popular in the past. We should have another this autumn.

Possible education topics: cover crops, grazing, invasive weed species, farm tours, no till, strip tilling (Paul Ortman), Food Pantry – First Fruit program, bees (Robert and Nathan Epp)

We should host a once per month 30 minute education session prior to our meeting open to the public with a 5 minute break afterward telling people they are welcome to stay for the meeting.

Andre and Lillie will present market gardening in July

Todd will present the community garden and food pantry in August.

Dennis Lehmann and Todd Koerner volunteered to serve on an education committee

Adjournment: Moved by Dee Millar, seconded by Andre Eisenbeis and passed.

## **Director Rotation Following This Election**

Tim Eisenbeis (Term 2 expires June, 2020) Lyle Preheim (Term 2 expires June, 2020) Dennis Lehmann (Term 1 expires June, 2022) Dee Millar (Term 1 expires June, 2021) Lillie Eisenbeis (Term 1 expires June, 2021) Dennis Jurkovich (Term 2 expires June, 2021)

Respectfully submitted by Dennis Jurkovich, Secretary