Rural Revival Minutes - November 25, 2019 - Draft

Directors Present: Tim Eisenbeis, Dennis Lehmann, Dee Millar, Lillie Eisenbeis,

Brent Brockmuller, Dennis Jurkovich

Directors Absent: Lyle Preheim

Members Present: Phil Eisenbeis, Larry Eisenbeis, S. Roy Kaufman, Andre

Eisenbeis

Guests Present: Angie Brockmuller, Priscilla Jurkovich, Bob Engbrecht

Pre-meeting Education: Bob Engbrecht presented "hobby beekeeping". He has been beekeeping for many years. At one point Bob and his partner had 400 hives. South Dakota is one of the best places in America to raise bees due to our vegetation. In 1970 there were around four million hives in America. Today there are around two and a half million hives. Speculation is that some chemicals widely used in agriculture today and GMO plants are toxic to bees. Beekeepers cannot keep up with demand due to die offs. Inferior honey is being imported.

Minutes: The Minutes of the October 28, 2019 meeting were reviewed. Motion to approve by Dee Millar, seconded by Phil Eisenbeis, passed unanimously.

Treasurer's Report: Lillie reported no changes since October.

Community Farmland Trust: Will Ortman will not be renting the land next year. Will recommended that the land be rented to Austin Unruh. Lillie Eisenbeis made a motion that the land be rented to Austin Unruh next year. Seconded by Dee Millar, passed unanimously.

Scholarships: Andre and Lillie presented a draft scholarship application and post card and the group approved. We discussed timing given that some conferences will be happening soon. Post cards and applications will be distributed around town and to local churches. It was suggested that the applicants be limited to residents of Turner and Hutchison counties.

Rural Revival Web Site: Lillie reported some issues with the Rural Revival web site. Dennis Jurkovich will look into it.

December Meeting: Normal meeting day is fourth Monday of the month. The fourth Monday in December is the 23rd. The December meeting is moved to the 30th.

Adjournment: Moved by Phil Eisenbeis, seconded by Dennis Lehmann and passed.

Respectfully submitted by Dennis Jurkovich, Secretary