Rural Revival Minutes - October 28, 2019 - Draft

Directors Present: Tim Eisenbeis, Dennis Lehmann, Dee Millar, Lyle Preheim, Lillie Eisenbeis, Dennis Jurkovich

Directors Absent: Brent Brockmuller

Members Present: Phil Eisenbeis, Larry Eisenbeis, S. Roy Kaufman, Andre

Eisenbeis

Guests Present: Charity Ortman

Pre-meeting Education: Dennis Jurkovich presented "soil health and the relationship to human health along with how to improve soil health in the garden".

Minutes: The Minutes of the September 23, 2019 meeting were reviewed. Motion to approve by Dee Millar, seconded by Phil Eisenbeis, passed unanimously.

Treasurer's Report: Lillie reported that the bank balance is \$4,561.69 of which \$527.53 is for the Farmers Market. Motion to approve by Lyle Preheim, seconded by Phil Eisenbeis, passed unanimously.

Scholarships: We discussed ways of publicizing our scholarship program and how to make them available to people for attending conferences that are inline with our goals. It would be expected afterward for the person to give a talk about what they learned at the conference. One possible audience is high school FFA students.

Current list of designated conferences are:

- Mother Earth News conference in Topeka, Kansas
- South Dakota Soil Health Conference
- ACRES Conference
- MOSES Conference
- Norther Plains Sustainable Ag Society Conference
- South Dakota Local Foods Conference
- South Dakota Grasslands Coalition Conference

Andre will design a scholarship application.

Lillie will develop a post card to be sent to potential candidates.

Lyle Preheim moved that we allocate up to \$1,000 for scholarships to designated conferences with a maximum of \$150 per applicant and an application deadline of June 30. Seconded by Dee Millar and passed unanimously.

Rural Revival Minutes - October 28, 2019 - Draft

Pre-meeting Education: Dennis Lehmann is looking for suggested topics.

Subcommittees: We will be forming subcommittees for each of our focus areas:

- Access to farm land
- Local foods
- Education

Adjournment: Moved by Lyle Preheim, seconded by Phil Eisenbeis and passed.

Respectfully submitted by Dennis Jurkovich, Secretary